TOLL FREE
  • Home
  • Factory Reset Macbook

How To Factory Reset Macbook

Resetting your MacBook to factory defaults will erase all the important files you have stored on it. Before performing the factory reset on your MacBook, back up your data using Time Machine or sync your files with iCloud. Besides, you have to unpair Bluetooth and sign out from iCloud, iTunes, and iMessage. For detailed instructions, read the steps given below.

Factory Reset Macbook

Steps to do before you reset your MacBook:

  • Connect an external storage drive (with a minimum storage of 1TB) to your Mac using a standard USB cable. 
  • If necessary, format the hard drive as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) using Disk Utility
  • Once formatted, a message will appear on the screen asking if you wish to use the drive with Time Machine
  • Click the Use as Backup Disk button to close the alert message. 
  • Next, click the Apple menu available at the top-left corner of the screen. 
  • Select System Preferences from the drop-down menu. 
  • Click on Time Machine in the System Preferences window to open the Time Machine preferences. 
  • Select Backup Disk and choose the storage device you would like to back up. 
  • Click on Use Disk and select the Encrypt your backups option. 
  • If prompted, enter your Mac administrator password in the required field.
  • Once you have backed up your MacBook data, remove the storage drive and turn off your MacBook.

Steps to factory reset your MacBook:

  • Press the Command + R shortcut keys simultaneously and hold them while you turn on your MacBook.
  • When the Apple logo pops-up, release the keys.
  • Doing so will start your MacBook in Recovery mode.
  • Choose your language and continue.
  • Select the Disk Utility option and click the Continue button.
  • Select your Macintosh HD startup disk from the left-side panel and click the Erase button.
  • Once completed, click the Done button and close the Disk Utility window.
  • Under macOS Utilities, select the Reinstall macOS option.
  • Now, your MacBook will install the new macOS and restore the settings to factory defaults.
shares